REBO(U)ND // Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

Description

Year of creation: 2018

Duration: 7 minutes loop, continuous

Architectural video projection 

A choreography of suspension, REBO(U)ND is an architectural video projection unveiling and magnifying bodies on the verge of escaping gravity. A project of choreographer Caroline Laurin-Beaucage with the companies Montréal Danse, Lorganisme and Hub Studio, the piece was made possible with the exceptional support of the Canada Council for the Arts as part of the New Chapter Initiative. It reveals the ephemeral instant when the performer floats, between momentum and falling, between liberty and unbalance, just as the body seems to defy space and time.

Projected on architectural surfaces, REBO(U)ND will be accessible to everyone, taking dance out of theaters and studios and into the streets. Video mapping plays with perceptions, thwarting notions of time, gravity, scale and space, whether for 10 seconds or long-lasting contemplations. A visual performance to be experienced and felt, REBO(U)ND delights in the sensations of abandon and liberty that dance can procure.

Credits

Director & choreographer - Caroline Laurin-Beaucage | Creative director - Thomas Payette | Cinematographer & editor - Kevin Jung-Hoo Park | Performers- Kimberley De Jong, Brianna Lombardo, Louis-Elyan Martin, Bradley Eng | Lighting - Gonzalo Soldi | Costumes - Odile Gamache | Sound design - Jean Gaudreau | Dramaturgy - Kathy Casey | Technical director & production - Hugues Kir Caillères | Technical advisor - Phil Hawes | Coaches (trampoline) - Bradley Eng, Bailey Eng 

 

Production - Montréal Danse, Lorganisme, Hub Studio
Coproduction - Agora de la danse
Promotion/Booking - Hub Studio, Art Circulation

REBO(U)ND // Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

Description

Année de création : 2018

Durée : Boucle de 7 minutes présentée en continu

Œuvres de projection vidéo

Chorégraphie de la suspension, REBO(U)ND est une œuvre de projection vidéo architecturale qui dévoile et magnifie des corps sur le point d’échapper à la gravité. Porté par la chorégraphe Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, les compagnies Montréal Danse, Lorganisme et Hub Studio, ce projet exceptionnel a pu voir le jour grâce au soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada dans le cadre de l’initiative Nouveau Chapitre. REBO(U)ND révèle l’instant éphémère où le danseur flotte, entre l’élan et la chute, entre liberté et déséquilibre, alors que le corps semble défier l’espace et le temps.

Projeté sur les surfaces architecturales, REBO(U)ND s’offrira au regard de tous, des passants, des curieux, faisant sortir la danse des théâtres et des studios. L’idée avec le mapping est de jouer avec les perceptions, en déjouant, pour 10 secondes ou de longues contemplations, les notions de temps, de gravité, d’échelle et d’espace. Expérience visuelle à vivre, à ressentir, REBO(U)ND est un hommage vibrant à la danse, partageant les sensations d’abandon et de liberté que cet art procure.

Crédits

Réalisatrice & chorégraphe - Caroline Laurin-Beaucage | Direction de création - Thomas Payette | Directeur photo & monteur - Kevin Jung-Hoo Park | Interprètes - Kimberley De Jong, Brianna Lombardo, Louis-Elyan Martin, Bradley Eng | Lumières - Gonzalo Soldi | Costumes - Odile Gamache | Conception sonore - Jean Gaudreau | Dramaturge - Kathy Casey | Direction technique & production - Hugues Kir Caillères | Conseiller technique - Phil Hawes | Coaches (trampoline) - Bradley Eng, Bailey Eng 

 

Production - Montréal Danse, Lorganisme, Hub Studio
Coproduction - Agora de la danse
Diffusion - Hub Studio, Art Circulation